top of page
  • harperemelton

What To Do The Week Before You Move Into Your First ApartmentBy Harper Melton

Welcome to the Harper Melton Adulting 101 series blog


! I'm really excited about this blog! This blog is all about what you need to do the week before you move into your first apartment which is important to learn when you are new to the adult world and renting or buying your first place.



Before moving into your first apartment, you need to get ready by lining up several things that will make the move completely smooth. We all know that we must pack up everything we want to take with us. But this blog isn’t about packing, it’s about the little things that no one tells you about, and, if you’re new to the game, you will not know these important tips. That’s why I’m writing my blog today, to get you prepared for your first move. So here goes, find my list below of important things to do BEFORE you move into your first apartment.


1.Set up your Wi-Fi and cable. Find out your options of Wi-Fi and cable in your local area and call the companies immediately! It takes at least one week for the cable company to send a technician to your apartment and set up your cable and Wi-Fi. If you work from home and need Wi-Fi set up right away, make sure you call them immediately. Also, you will need to be in your apartment when the technician arrives. Although that sounds reasonable, be prepared to


wait all day because they tell you the day that they will be arriving, but not necessarily a specific time.

2. Like the cable technician, you will need to set up an appointment to have your electric and water turned on. Often you must wait until the previous tenant or owner shuts off both of these services before you can

turn them on in your name. You usually do not need to provide


money to turn on these services, rather you wait to receive your first bill. Instead, you need to give these companies you name and address. For example, in my place this summer I let Florida Power and Light know the length of time that I would be living in the apartment, and it was easy peasey to set up my electric bill. In fact, they even sent my final bill to my new address.


3. Next, pack your essentials in a box. You will want a box with your necessities that you can find when you’re moving. So, instead of a box, I brought my essentials in a basket. In my essentials basket I packed everything that I might need in the moving process. For example, I brought toilet paper, paper towels, cleaning supplies, toiletries, soap, packing tape, scissors, a trash can, pajamas for that first night, and paper plates for dinner. These are just things that you are going to need to have on hand. Also, if they are in a ton of packed boxes and you don't know where everything is, the essentials box will make life easier.


4. Label boxes with as much detail as possible. Use a different colored marker for each room. For example, you can just write “living room” in blue on a box so that anyone that carries that box knows that it is to be placed in the living room. It just makes your life easier so that later when you are all alone unpacking, you won't have to be dragging boxes that are heavy and that aren't in the right room.


5. Pack food like energy bars and waters. You will get hungry during

your move and there is nothing worse than moving and being cranky, so just make sure that you have stuff for both yourself and for the people that are helping you move. It just makes everything so much better. Also, if you do have friends helping you move in, get pizza and beer. It will make your life a lot easier. You’ll be busy moving and moving is stressful, so make your life easier and treat your friends for all their help.


6. Say thank many times to your friends who helped you move. Don't make the mistake of failing to thank your helpers. Your friends are taking time out of their busy schedule to help you. Although the move is stressful, remind yourself to thank your friends who have taken time out to help you move.

I hope that was helpful for you. I guarantee that if you follow these steps, you will really appreciate it and have a smooth first move. Since this is the last blog I would like to thank everyone who has come with me on my journey and read what I have shared. Thank you everyone!

9 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page