top of page
  • harperemelton

TIPS FOR INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL – EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT TRAVELING INTERNATIONALLY


Travel is back! With more and more countries opening their borders to international travelers, I am sure that you are ready to book that long-awaited trip abroad. But before you press that “book” button, I think it is important for you to consider a few simple tips that I’m going to share with you today to ensure that you have the most stress-free experience possible, especially if you're going to be traveling internationally for the first time. My promise to you by the end of this blog is that you are going to be a total packing pro.


My name is Harper from girlwholovestotravel.com and this blog is all about how to travel internationally both smarter and cheaper. You may have followed my previous blog about essential items to pack for the airplane, but today we are focused on what to bring on our international trip. So, here we go….


Travel Tip #1: One thing I always do before I travel is create a special essentials travel list on my phone, so that in the morning before my flight, I can just review it and make sure I have all the important things like my passport, any medication, etc.


Travel Tip #2: Next, I check my airline’s baggage fee policy. Most people don't realize just how inconsistent some of these international airlines can be. Baggage allowance depends on the airline that you're flying, save yourself the hassle by Googling in advance what you're allowed to bring in terms of size and weight. I even bought from Amazon a handheld luggage scale - that way you can weigh your luggage in advance, so you don't have to pay any baggage fees at the airport or be that person who's awkwardly reshuffling everything at the front of the line.


Travel Tip #3: One of the most important tips is to bring the correct bag. What I mean by “the perfect bag” is a bag that's well suited for your travel style. Personally, my travel style is limited to carry on only. The perfect bag for me is just a hard-shell suitcase carry-on, something that I can carry easily by myself because a lot of the time hotels will only have stairs with no elevator. Therefore, you should make sure that you can physically pick it up.


Travel Tip #4: When I pack my suitcase, I use packing cubes. I love packing cubes (they are probably my favorite travel product). They’re wonderful for keeping your suitcase organized. I roll my clothes and use a different packing cube for different types of clothing. For example, one cube stores bottoms, while another holds tops. I also use little packing cubes to organize individual outfits for each day. It is important to plan your outfits before you leave for your trip. I know this is a little bit of extra work, but if you plan your outfits in advance then you can make sure you're only bringing things that you're going to wear. Maximize space by stuffing little small items in your shoes like socks. Also, make sure you always pack your heaviest items at the bottom of your suitcase (where the wheels are) because the last thing you want is a top-heavy bag. You don't want your suitcase to be toppling over on your trip.




Travel Tip #5: Remember to pack many layers of clothing because across the continent the weather is completely wacky at times, it might be sunny and then suddenly, a storm cloud will just roll in. Thus, remember to always bring different layers so that you can have a lot of different items that are sort of multi-purpose.


Travel Tip #6: I know a lot of the time when people travel abroad, they like to buy those cute, expensive little travel size toiletries from the store. It's not too expensive but also not the best use of money, so what I would recommend if you travel often is to purchase reusable toiletry bottles that you fill with your own favorite products. Therefore, you cut down on the single use plastic. Also use special covering on your liquid bottles to ensure that you are protected against leaks. Finally, keep all your liquids in their own plastic bag away from everything else. Airport security usually will want to inspect them, and if they are in a bag, they are easy to pull out (and you’ll look like a pro).


Travel Tip #7: Always pack your absolute essentials in your carry-on as well as an additional outfit because bags can go missing. They don't go missing often but when they do, you’ll want to have your essential medication or your favorite foundation sitting in your suitcase when you need it. So, make sure you always have your absolute essentials packed in your carry-on as well as an additional outfit and underwear.


Travel Tip #8: Make sure you have a unique luggage tag or identifier on your suitcase. This is especially true if you are checking your bag. People take the wrong luggage all the time. My parents wrap their luggage in this obnoxious green and orange ribbon (the University of Miami colors) and people will not take it because they know that luggage is unique.


Travel Tip #9: Be sure to bring a reusable water bottle. The good thing about reusable water bottles is when you're traveling around Europe, most major cities will have free fountains in the streets where you can get tap water to fill your bottle. It is better for the environment and saves you quite a bit of money.


Travel Tip #10: Bring a pillowcase. Pillowcases are good to bring with you because they weigh nothing and they're multifunctional. For example, stuff a pillowcase with clothes and it functions as a travel pillow. Moreover, it's more hygienic if you're staying in hostels or an apartment where you feel that cleanliness isn't a priority. It's also just nice and comfortable to have something from home. Finally, if you pack a pillowcase and you don't feel like you're using it for any of those purposes you can always just use it as a dirty laundry bag.


Travel Tip #11: Invest in a universal adapter. They are handy- especially the ones that you can buy now that have multiple USB cord slots which allow you to charge multiple devices.

Travel Tip #12: Bring dryer sheets with you to avoid weird clothes smell. If you're traveling for quite a long time, it might be worth your while to bring just a few dryer sheets so that your clothes stay fresh.


Travel Tip #13: Always bring a pen. A pen is something that everybody forgets to bring, so make sure you have a pen in at least every bag you're bringing because sometimes you'll need a pen. And trust me when I say that you will need a pen to fill out any customs declarations or just for daily use.


I appreciate you following my blog. Feel free to like it below and be ready for my next travel blog where I tell you about the top twenty travel apps you must download before your big trip! Next week catch blog #4 which is titled “Organizing to travel with only a backpack for a summer or semester”.

9 views

Comments


bottom of page